
Basketball	
  Coaching	
  Box	
  Q	
  &	
  A:	
  
	
  
Q1.	
  	
   Are	
  the	
  coaching	
  box	
  lines	
  required	
  to	
  be	
  on	
  the	
  court?	
  
A1.	
  	
   Yes,	
  the	
  coaching	
  box	
  lines	
  are	
  required	
  to	
  be	
  on	
  the	
  floor	
  for	
  all	
  basketball	
  games	
  

involving	
  students	
  in	
  grades	
  7	
  –	
  12.	
  	
  The	
  game	
  shall	
  not	
  begin	
  until	
  the	
  lines	
  are	
  properly	
  
marked.	
  

	
  
Q2.	
   Is	
  there	
  a	
  color	
  and/or	
  length	
  requirement	
  for	
  the	
  coaching	
  box	
  lines?	
  
A2.	
   Coaching	
  box	
  lines	
  shall	
  be	
  2-­‐inches	
  in	
  width,	
  are	
  recommended	
  to	
  be	
  a	
  minimum	
  of	
  3-­‐	
  
	
   feet	
  in	
  length,	
  extending	
  from	
  the	
  sideline	
  away	
  from	
  the	
  playing	
  court,	
  and	
  may	
  be	
  any	
  

single	
  solid	
  color.	
  
	
  
Q3.	
   Our	
  school	
  administration	
  wants	
  our	
  head	
  coach	
  to	
  remain	
  seated	
  and	
  not	
  utilize	
  the	
  

coaching	
  box.	
  	
  Do	
  we	
  still	
  have	
  to	
  put	
  the	
  lines	
  on	
  the	
  court?	
  
A3.	
   Yes,	
  the	
  coaching	
  box	
  lines	
  are	
  required	
  to	
  be	
  on	
  the	
  floor	
  for	
  all	
  basketball	
  games	
  

involving	
  students	
  in	
  grades	
  7	
  –	
  12.	
  	
  The	
  game	
  shall	
  not	
  begin	
  until	
  the	
  lines	
  are	
  properly	
  
marked.	
  

	
  
Q4.	
   Our	
  basketball	
  court	
  is	
  longer	
  or	
  shorter	
  than	
  the	
  regulation	
  84-­‐feet	
  court.	
  	
  Where	
  

should	
  we	
  mark	
  the	
  coaching	
  boxes?	
  
A4.	
   Measure	
  from	
  each	
  end	
  line	
  14-­‐feet	
  toward	
  the	
  scorer’s	
  bench	
  and	
  place	
  one	
  coaching	
  

box	
  boundary	
  line.	
  	
  Measure	
  14-­‐feet	
  from	
  that	
  line	
  toward	
  the	
  scorer’s	
  bench	
  and	
  place	
  
the	
  other	
  coaching	
  box	
  boundary	
  line.	
  

	
  
Q5.	
   May	
  the	
  head	
  coach	
  squat	
  or	
  kneel	
  within	
  the	
  coaching	
  box?	
  
A5.	
   The	
  head	
  coach	
  may	
  squat	
  within	
  the	
  coaching	
  box	
  but	
  may	
  not	
  kneel.	
  	
  Coaches	
  need	
  to	
  	
  
	
   have	
  both	
  feet	
  on	
  the	
  floor	
  within	
  the	
  coaching	
  box.	
  
	
  
Q6.	
   The	
  head	
  coach	
  is	
  standing	
  outside	
  of	
  the	
  coaching	
  box	
  instructing	
  his/her	
  players.	
  	
  How	
  

should	
  the	
  game	
  officials	
  address	
  this	
  situation?	
  
A6.	
   One	
  warning	
  may	
  be	
  issued	
  reminding	
  the	
  coach	
  he/she	
  must	
  remain	
  in	
  the	
  coaching	
  

box.	
  	
  Any	
  subsequent	
  infraction	
  of	
  this	
  nature	
  shall	
  be	
  penalized	
  with	
  a	
  technical	
  foul.	
  
	
  
Q7.	
   The	
  head	
  coach	
  is	
  standing	
  out	
  of	
  the	
  coaching	
  box	
  questioning	
  the	
  judgment	
  of	
  or	
  

berating	
  the	
  officials.	
  	
  How	
  should	
  the	
  game	
  officials	
  address	
  this	
  situation?	
  
A7.	
   A	
  technical	
  foul	
  shall	
  be	
  issued	
  without	
  warning.	
  

Q8.	
   The	
  head	
  coach	
  of	
  Team	
  A	
  sits	
  on	
  the	
  opposite	
  end	
  of	
  the	
  bench	
  from	
  where	
  the	
  
coaching	
  box	
  is	
  located	
  so	
  that	
  he/she	
  is	
  not	
  sitting	
  within	
  the	
  coaching	
  box	
  boundaries.	
  
The	
  coach	
  rises	
  only	
  when	
  permitted	
  by	
  rule	
  such	
  as	
  to	
  request	
  a	
  timeout	
  or	
  to	
  	
  
spontaneously	
  react	
  to	
  an	
  outstanding	
  play.	
  	
  Is	
  this	
  permissible?	
  

A8.	
   Yes.	
  	
  The	
  coach	
  is	
  not	
  required	
  to	
  use	
  the	
  coaching	
  box.	
  	
  However,	
  if	
  the	
  coach	
  begins	
  
the	
  game	
  by	
  sitting	
  somewhere	
  other	
  than	
  where	
  the	
  coaching	
  box	
  is	
  located,	
  he/she	
  	
  
may	
  not	
  use	
  the	
  coaching	
  box	
  privileges	
  anytime	
  during	
  the	
  game.	
  	
  The	
  coach	
  must	
  	
  
begin	
  the	
  game	
  in	
  a	
  position	
  within	
  the	
  box	
  if	
  he/she	
  wishes	
  to	
  stand	
  when	
  permitted	
  
under	
  the	
  coaching-­‐box	
  provisions.	
  



	
  
Q9.	
   The	
  head	
  coach	
  of	
  Team	
  A	
  begins	
  the	
  game	
  by	
  standing	
  within	
  the	
  coaching	
  box.	
  	
  After	
  a	
  

couple	
  minutes	
  the	
  coach	
  then	
  proceeds	
  to	
  sit	
  at	
  the	
  end	
  of	
  his/her	
  team	
  bench	
  which	
  is	
  
located	
  six	
  feet	
  outside	
  the	
  coaching	
  box	
  nearer	
  the	
  scorer’s	
  table.	
  	
  Is	
  this	
  permissible?	
  

A9.	
   No.	
  	
  If	
  the	
  coach	
  begins	
  the	
  game	
  within	
  the	
  coaching	
  box,	
  those	
  provisions	
  are	
  in	
  place	
  
for	
  the	
  entire	
  game.	
  	
  The	
  coach	
  may	
  not	
  sit	
  outside	
  of	
  the	
  coaching	
  box	
  and	
  then	
  rise	
  
and	
  walk	
  to	
  the	
  coaching	
  box	
  in	
  order	
  to	
  use	
  the	
  coaching	
  box	
  privileges.	
  	
  It	
  is	
  
recommended	
  that	
  the	
  end	
  of	
  the	
  team	
  bench	
  nearest	
  the	
  scorer’s	
  table	
  coincide	
  with	
  
the	
  28-­‐foot	
  line	
  of	
  the	
  coaching	
  box.	
  

Q10.	
   A	
  team	
  has	
  co-­‐head	
  coaches.	
  	
  Are	
  both	
  coaches	
  allowed	
  to	
  use	
  the	
  coaching	
  box?	
  
A10.	
   No.	
  	
  The	
  coaches	
  must	
  designate	
  to	
  the	
  game	
  officials	
  at	
  the	
  pregame	
  conference	
  which	
  	
  

head	
  coach	
  will	
  have	
  coaching	
  box	
  privileges	
  for	
  the	
  game.	
  
	
  
Q11.	
   A	
  technical	
  foul	
  is	
  charged	
  to:	
  (a)	
  a	
  Team	
  A	
  substitute;	
  (b)	
  Team	
  B's	
  manager;	
  (c)	
  Team	
  
	
  	
   A's	
  athletic	
  trainer;	
  or	
  (d)	
  Team	
  B's	
  assistant	
  coach.	
  	
  In	
  all	
  cases,	
  the	
  foul	
  is	
  charged	
  	
  
	
   because	
  of	
  uncomplimentary	
  remarks	
  addressed	
  to	
  an	
  official.	
  	
  What	
  is	
  the	
  result?	
  
A11.	
   The	
  individuals	
  in	
  (a),	
  (b),	
  (c)	
  and	
  (d)	
  are	
  all	
  considered	
  to	
  be	
  bench	
  personnel	
  and	
  have	
  

violated	
  the	
  rules	
  governing	
  conduct	
  while	
  on	
  the	
  "bench."	
  	
  A	
  second	
  technical	
  charged	
  	
  
to	
  any	
  of	
  these	
  individuals	
  results	
  in	
  disqualification.	
  	
  In	
  addition	
  to	
  charging	
  a	
  technical	
  	
  
to	
  the	
  individuals	
  in	
  all	
  cases,	
  the	
  technical	
  foul	
  is	
  also	
  charged	
  indirectly	
  to	
  the	
  head	
  	
  
coach	
  resulting	
  in	
  the	
  loss	
  of	
  coaching-­‐box	
  privileges.	
  	
  A	
  second	
  technical	
  foul	
  charged	
  	
  
directly,	
  or	
  the	
  third	
  technical	
  foul	
  (direct	
  or	
  indirect)	
  charged	
  to	
  the	
  head	
  coach	
  results	
  	
  
in	
  similar	
  disqualification	
  and	
  ejection.	
  	
  

	
  


